East/West Road Namesakes

Road Name
Road History

Adams Road

Named for two Presidents of the United States John Adams, the 2nd President 1797-1801, and John Quincy Adams, the 6th President 1825-1829.

Auten Road

Named for John Auten, who was the first person from St. Joseph County killed in the Civil War. He died on July 10, 1861 at the age of 22, while serving with Company I of the 9th Indiana Regiment. He was the son of Abram Auten of Portage Township.

Anderson Road

Named for Andrew Anderson, who was the director of the first County Bar Association in 1873. He was a State Legislator in 1862.

Alden Road

Named for A. Alden, who was one of the organizers of the Christian Church in Mishawaka in 1843, and R.S. Alden was one of the organizers of the Masonic Lodge in 1852.

Brick Road

Named for William W. Brick. The Brick’s were pioneers of St. Joseph County. He was the first Justice elected to that office and held many town and county offices. He located here in 1831. Abraham Brick was a prominent local attorney, born in Warren Township in 1860. He was elected prosecuting attorney in 1886 and served in the U.S. Congress from the 13th District of Indiana for several terms, starting in 1888. He also lectured on criminal law and pleadings at the University of Notre Dame.

Brummitt Road

Named for Mark Brummitt, who was on the County Council in 1907, and elected County Commissioner in 1919.

Darden Road

Named for Dr. Sinclair Darden, who was the head of the TB Clinic at Healthwin Hospital.

Cleveland Road

Named for U.S. President Grover Cleveland. Twice President, the first term 1885-1889 and the second term 1893-1897.

Douglas Road

Named for Stephen Douglas, who was Abraham Lincoln’s debate opponent in the Great Debate, he was born in 1813. He was the leader of the Democratic party in Illinois, served in the House of Representatives 1843-1847, and served in the Senate 1847-1861. He died in 1861.

Dunn Road

Named for Judge Reynolds Dunn, who settled here in 1832, he gave Warren Township its name. He was County Commissioner 1833-1837, Assoc. Judge in 1837.

Day Road

Named for Lot Day Sr., who was Sheriff from 1842-1846, County Commissioner from 1833-1842, and served in the State Senate from 1847-1850.

Edison Road 

Named for Thomas A. Edison, who was a famous inventor.

Eaton Road

Named for Jacob Eaton, who settled in Clay Township in 1831. He was Clay Township Trustee for 17 years. He cleared the ground where St. Mary’s College now stands.

Early Road

Named for Noah Early, who was wounded at the battle of Chickamauga, he also fought in the battle of Stone River.

Fillmore Road

Named for U. S. President Millard Fillmore, who was the 13th President, he served from 1850-1853.

Grant Road

Named for U.S. President Ulysses Grant, who served in the Civil War and led the Army to the defeat of the South. He was the 18th President, serving from 1869-1877. One of his vice presidents was Schuyler Colfax.

Gordon Road

Named for Moses Gordon, who came to Madison Twp. in 1871. His son, Martin Gordon managed Oak Grove Creamery.

Harrison Road

Named for Benjamin Harrison, who was born in Ohio, but claimed Indiana as home. He was a U.S. Senator form 1881-1887. He was the 23rd President, serving from 1889 to 1893.

Hurd Road

 Named for A. M. (Alanson) Hurd, who laid out and platted the Village of St. Joseph Iron Works, the first village organized in the County, now Mishawaka. Orlando Hurd was County Commissioner from 1835-1837.

Inwood Road

Named for Richard Inwood, who settled here in 1835 in Centre Township. He was the superintendent of the South Bend Iron Works, and once owned 400 acres in Centre Township.

Ireland Road

Named for Sam Ireland, who was an old and respected citizen of Mishawaka after settling there in 1831. He was the first Assessor of St. Joseph County. He was also the Penn Township Assessor and a Justice of the Peace. John Ireland was an Assoc. Judge in 1837 and a County Commissioner from 1832 to 1835.

Information was collected from the following sources:

  • Indiana and Indianans (2 Vols. 1919) by Jacob Dunn
  • A History of Indiana (2 Vols. 1924) by John Dillon
  • Indiana: The Hoosier State (1963) by Carmony, Nichols
Road Name
Road History

Jackson Road 

Named for Andrew Jackson,who was the 7th U.S. President from 1829 to 1837. John Jackson was County Commissioner in 1831 and an early settler of Union Township.

Kern Road

Named for John Kern, who was a U. S. Senator from 1911 to 1917. He was the Vice President nominee on the ticket with President William J. Bryan in 1908.

Kline Road

Named for Peter Kline, who settled in Madison Township in 1846.

Kelly Road

Named for Charles Kelley, who settled in Madison Township in 1853.

Roosevelt Road

An exception to the alphabet system in the County. Originally called Lehman road, named for someone with the last name beginning with “L”, but the County officials wanted to honor the 32nd U.S. President Franklin Roosevelt and they already had James Whitcomb Riley, so Lehman bit the dust.

Layton Road

Named for George F. Layton, who was on the first Board of Trustees of the Northern Indiana College. He was a member of the original St. Joseph County Historical Society.

Leeper Road

Named for David R. Leeper, who was a State Senator and a State Representative in the 1860’s.

Madison Road 

Named for James Madison the 4th U.S. President, who served from 1809 to 1817.

Martindale Road

Named for John Martindale, who was an early settler in German Township, a pioneer minister in the Christian Church and County Commissioner from 1832 to 1833.

Miller Road

Named for William Miller, who settled in St. Joseph County in 1833, was a Justice of the Peace, served on the City Council, and was a State Legislator for 3 terms starting in 1844. William H. Miller was the Attorney General under President Benjamin Harrison from 1889 to 1893.

New Road

Named for Harry S. New, who was a U. S. Senator from 1917 to 1923. He was also Postmaster General under President Harding and Coolidge, 1923 to 1929.
Nicar Road
Named for Robert B. Nicar, who was St. Joseph County Treasurer from 1851 to 1856. Edwin Nicar, the son of Robert, was a Captain in the Army and a County Clerk.

Osborne Road

 Named for Andrew L. Osborne, who was a Circuit Court Judge in St. Joseph County from 1858 to 1870.

Pierce Road

Named for Franklin Pierce the 14th U.S. President, who served from 1853 to 1857

Patterson Road

Named for William Patterson, who was County Recorder in 1837, South Bend City Clerk in 1845, Trustee of South Bend 1846, and President of St. Joseph County Bible Society.

Quinn Road

Named for the Revolutionary War Patriot John Quinn.

Quincy Road

Named for Josiah Quincy, who was a prominent American Patriot.

Quarles Road

Named for Francis Quarles, who was an English Poet.

Riley Road 

Named for James Whitcomb Riley,who was a famous Hoosier Poet.

Shively Road

Named for Benjamin Shively, who was born in Osceola Indiana in 1857, he was the proprietor of the South Bend ERA newspaper, a U. S. Senator from 1909 to 1916, and a U. S. Representative from 1884-1885 and 1887-1893.

Smith Road

Named for Oliver H. Smith, who was a U. S. Senator from 1837 to 1843 and a U. S. Representative from 1827 to 1829.

Stanton Road

Named for Aaron Stanton, who was a County Commissioner in 1831, and in 1830 was the inspector of elections in Michigan Township.

Towle Road

Named for Gilman Towle, who was an early settler of St. Joseph County.

Tyler Road

Named for John Tyler the 10th U.S. President. He served from 1841 to 1845.

Underwood Road

Named for Dr. Israel Underwood. He and his wife were both doctors with a large practice.

Van Nuys Road

Named for Frederick Van Nuys, who was a U. S. Senator from 1933 to 1944. He succeeded James Watson in this post.

Watson Road

Named for James E. Watson, who was a U. S. Senator from 1916 to 1933, and a U. S. Representative from 1895-1897 and from 1899-1909.